Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Racine Theatre Guild welcomes 'Always ... Patsy Cline'

Racine Theatre Guild welcomes 'Always ... Patsy Cline'


Racine Theatre Guild’s managing and artistic director Doug Instenes wasn’t always a country music fan.

Patsy Cline made him a believer.

Based on the true story of a Texas housewife who meets and befriends her idol, “Always ... Patsy Cline” returns to the Racine Theatre Guild, 2519 Northwestern Ave., for a two-weekend run starting Friday (July 14).

Instenes directs the show — back by popular demand — for the second time following its debut at the Racine Theatre Guild in 2003.

Kate Potter-Barrow (Patsy Cline) and Anne Mollerskov (Louise Segar) comprise the two-person cast.

“I didn’t realize what a big deal Patsy Cline was until I did the show (in 2003),” Instenes said. “There’s a reason people become stars. It’s quite a success story. She came from nothing.”

The show includes 27 of Patsy Cline’s greatest hits, performed by a live band. Some of the more memorable songs include “Crazy,” “I Fall to Pieces,” “Sweet Dreams” and “Walking After Midnight.”

Potter-Barrow, a teacher at Racine’s Walden III Middle School, reprises her role as Cline from the 2003 production. Known for her rich tone and bold voice, Cline is considered one of the most influential, successful and acclaimed vocalists of the 20th century.

Cline died in a plane crash at the age of 30 on March 5, 1963.

“What I think we can learn from this story is to have your own voice,” Instenes said. “(Potter-Barrow) will tell you that Patsy did everything wrong vocally. She sang incorrectly. She didn’t hold things right. She didn’t read music very well.

“What she did was put her heart and soul into something and it made a unique voice that really connected with people. It made her different. It made her stand out. It made her memorable.”

Mollerskov is a talented and versatile performer. In her latest act, she was stabbed with swords and lightbulbs and cut into pieces during magician David Seeback’s shows at Summerfest in Milwaukee.

Members of the show’s band are Zach Johnson (piano), Mark Paffrath (fiddle/guitar), Nat Johnson (drums), Tim Ipsen (bass) and Marv Dykhuis (steel guitar).


Stay up-to-date on what's happening

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

News Alert