Kenosha School of Technology Enhanced Curriculum (KTEC) middle school students competed in the Middle Level Forensics Association of Wisconsin for the first time this year.

Brett Houdek, English language learner teacher at KTEC and head coach, started the KTEC forensics team this year. Eleven students participated in eight meets including State, placing at many meets and in a variety of categories.

“Forensics was an experience that I will never forget,” said seventh-grader Patrick Sterling. “I enjoyed working with Mr. Brett to help create a speech that would suit me best.

“This experience is something that I know will help improve my speaking skills in the future. Before forensics my public speaking skills were OK, but afterwards I felt a lot more comfortable giving speeches and presentations. Forensics is something that I would definitely do again next year.”

“I loved forensics!” said seventh-grader Ashley Anderson. “It helped me with public speaking, and I learned to not be afraid to be myself.”

The following students were recognized at the end of season family night:

Ja’Daeyah O’Bryant-Murray and Preston Whitford were awarded the Most Improved trophy.

Patrick Sterling and Brian Yao received the High Achiever trophy.

Ashley Anderson and Olivia Parrish received the Most Enthusiastic trophy.

“Forensics has been a rewarding experience and an incredible journey,” Houdek said. “Our forensics team earned 10 blue ribbons, four individual medals, one team trophy, and three students each earned a coveted spot at state.”

Individual results:

Ashley Anderson (Storytelling) and Ava Beljaeff (Special Event Presentation — partnered with Olivia Parrish) earned a third-place medal.

Aidan Habel (Persuasive Speech), Eric Ma (Humorous Solo Acting) and Ja’Daeyah O’Bryant-Murray (Humorous Solo Acting) scored 68 out of 70 at state.

Olivia Parrish (Special Event Presentation — partnered with Ava Beljaeff) earned a third-place medal.

Patrick Sterling (Moments in History) earned second-place and third-place individual medal and scored 67 out of 70 at state.

Joshua Svatek (Infomercial)

Yomar Vaquera (Informative Speech), Preston Whitford (Moments in History) and Brian Yao (Moments in History) earned second-place individual medals and scored 68 out of 70 at state.

The team as a whole earned the second-place team trophy in the “small schools” category.