Robbie Goss, front, leads the pack at the Washington Park Velodrome on Tuesday.

The last, and biggest, points race of the year highlights tonight’s 7 p.m. racing program at the Washington Park Velodrome.

Riders will try to conquer the 23rd Bob Pfarr Classic, which features Category 1/2/3 riders and at 31 miles and 150 laps is the velodrome’s most grueling race of the summer.

Chicago’s Tyler George of XXX Racing won the event last summer, in addition to last year’s Mayor’s Cup. Those races, along with the Bill Schulte Memorial Junior Race, comprise the velodrome’s trifecta of big points races each summer.

In the Pfarr Classic, riders are awarded 10 points every 10 laps, called the sprint lap. Five points go to first place, three to second, two to third and one to fourth.

Additionally, riders earn 20 points each time they lap the field.

The race is named after Bob Pfarr, one of Kenosha’s all-time cycling greats.

Over a career spanning seven decades, Pfarr captured a Wisconsin Junior Sprint title in 1935 and a Masters National championship in 1984. In between, he won 21 state championships, competed in the 1960 Olympics in Rome and won a gold medal at the Pan-Am Games in 1959.

The U.S. Bicycling Hall of Famer died in October 2006 at age 86.

Mike Johnson