Badgers 4, Nittany Lions 3: Quick wrapup and three stars from the Wisconsin men's hockey victory against No. 9 Penn State

Badgers 4, Nittany Lions 3: Quick wrapup and three stars from the Wisconsin men's hockey victory against No. 9 Penn State

  • Updated

Dylan Holloway scored with 1:04 remaining to give the University of Wisconsin men's hockey team a 4-3 victory over No. 9 Penn State on Friday at the Kohl Center despite a heavy third-period push by the Nittany Lions.

Three stars

No. 3: Liam Folkes scored twice, his 11th and 12th goals in 16 career games against the Badgers.

No. 2: Daniel Lebedeff stopped the last 25 shots he faced for the Badgers.

No. 1: Dylan Holloway's fifth goal of the season made the difference.

Up next

The Badgers host Penn State at 7 p.m. Saturday.


The University of Wisconsin men's hockey team on Friday will try to stop a five-game losing streak against the team it has played more than any other in the Big Ten Conference era, No. 9 Penn State (7 p.m., no TV, BTN Plus subscription stream, 1310 AM).

Including six playoff games, the Badgers and the Nittany Lions have played 32 times since the start of the 2013-14 season. Penn State leads the series 18-11-3 in that time.

The Badgers have center Alex Turcotte and left wing Roman Ahcan back in the lineup. Both missed last weekend's series at Michigan.

Sophomore defenseman Ty Emberson has been named an alternate captain for UW. Junior forward Sean Dhooghe, who's likely out for at least the next two weeks, is part of the leadership group that includes captain Wyatt Kalynuk and alternate Tarek Baker.

Badgers (10-17-1, 5-14-1-1 Big Ten)


Max Zimmer - Ty Pelton-Byce - Cole Caufield

Dylan Holloway - Tarek Baker - Ryder Donovan

Roman Ahcan - Alex Turcotte - Owen Lindmark

Jack Gorniak - Dominick Mersch - Brock Caufield

Linus Weissbach


Wyatt Kalynuk - Ty Emberson

K'Andre Miller - Mike Vorlicky

Josh Ess - Tyler Inamoto


Daniel Lebedeff

Johan Blomquist

Nittany Lions (18-9-3, 10-7-3-0)


Aarne Talvitie - Nate Sucese - Brandon Biro

Alex Limoges - Evan Barratt - Liam Folkes

Denis Smirnov - Nikita Pavlychev - Connor McMenamin

Kevin Wall - Connor MacEachern - Sam Sternschein


Cole Hults - Paul DeNaples

Kris Myllari - James Gobetz

Mason Snell - Alex Stevens

Evan Bell


Peyton Jones

Oskar Autio


Referees: Jonathon Sitarski and Barry Pochmara

Linesmen: Johnathan Morrison and Jonathan Sladek


Get Breaking News delivered directly to you.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.