Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Badgers 4, Sun Devils 0: Three stars from the Wisconsin men's hockey victory against Arizona State

Badgers 4, Sun Devils 0: Three stars from the Wisconsin men's hockey victory against Arizona State

  • Updated
  • Comments

Jack Gorniak, Josh Ess and Ty Pelton-Byce scored first-period goals for the No. 12 University of Wisconsin men's hockey team, and Cameron Rowe had to make only 11 saves for his first collegiate shutout in a 4-0 Badgers victory over Arizona State on Saturday at LaBahn Arena.

Three stars

No. 3: Rowe stopped Johnny Walker on a first-period breakaway to set the tone.

No. 2: Linus Weissbach had two assists for the Badgers.

No. 1: Tyler Inamoto had a goal and an assist and was plus-3.

Up next

The Badgers and the Sun Devils finish the series at 6:30 p.m. Sunday.


More often than not, games between the University of Wisconsin men's hockey team and Arizona State have been heavy in goal-scoring. They combined for 21 goals in a two-game series last season and started November's series with a 13-goal outing.

So don't be surprised if Saturday's game (7 p.m., FSW,,, 1070 AM) has a quick pace. The 12th-ranked Badgers need victories this weekend to wipe away some of the effects of the Sun Devils winning twice at LaBahn Arena earlier in the season.

The start of the series was delayed by a day because of a positive COVID-19 test with Arizona State. The Sun Devils have five players out — defenseman Jacob Wilson and forward Willie Knierim with injuries, goaltender Cole Brady with an illness and forward Ryan O'Reilly and defenseman Jarrod Gourley because of COVID-19 protocols.

Cameron Rowe is set to make his second start for the Badgers. He made 40 saves in a 3-1 victory at Ohio State on Dec. 4.

Badgers (6-6)


Linus Weissbach - Ty Pelton-Byce - Cole Caufield

Roman Ahcan - Dylan Holloway - Brock Caufield

Dominick Mersch - Tarek Baker - Sam Stange

Jack Gorniak - Owen Lindmark - Mathieu de St. Phalle / Ryder Donovan


Tyler Inamoto - Ty Emberson

Jesper Peltonen - Anthony Kehrer

Josh Ess - Mike Vorlicky


Cameron Rowe

Robbie Beydoun

Scratches: F Jason Dhooghe, D Shay Donovan, D Luke LaMaster, G Ben Garrity

Sun Devils (5-9-2)


Chris Grando - James Sanchez - Johnny Walker

Matthew Kopperud - Jordan Sandhu - Demetrios Koumontzis

Benji Eckerle - Michael Mancinelli - Sean Dhooghe

Dominic Garcia - Jax Murray - PJ Marrocco

Peter Zhong


Jacob Semik - Jack Judson

Gvido Jansons - Tanner Hickey

Carson Kosobud - Connor Stuart


Justin Robbins

Evan DeBrouwer

Bronson Moore


Referees: Sean Fernandez and Tony Czech

Linesmen: Bill Hancock and Matt Gerlach

Fave 5: Sports reporter Todd D. Milewski picks his most memorable stories of 2020

This group of stories looks back on a Miracle, gets the details on the details of a jersey design and provides a window into an epic journey.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

News Alert