After a stellar season, UW-Parkside redshirt senior forward Chip Flanigan was honored appropriately by the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

On Friday, Flanigan was named first-team All-GLIAC and also to the GLIAC All-Defensive team.

Flanigan, the only Parkside player to start all 28 games, led the Rangers to a GLIAC North Division championship and an appearance in the GLIAC Tournament semifinals.

Entering Saturday’s 55-53 conference tournament loss to Grand Valley State, Flanigan led Parkside in scoring (13.7 points per game), field-goal percentage (55.2), assists (5.7 per game) and steals (2.0 per game).

He scored in double figures 19 times and went for a career-high 32 points on a perfect 13-of-13 shooting in a road win at Lake Superior State on Jan. 17.

In GLIAC ranks, Flanigan was first in field-goal percentage and second in assist-to-turnover ratio, assists and steals. He also guarded the opponent’s top offensive player the majority of the time.

It was a satisfying senior year for Flanigan, who would’ve been a senior last year if not for unusual circumstances.

The Rangers were ineligible for postseason play after their then-conference, the Great Lakes Valley Conference, banned the entire athletic program from postseason competition, among other sanctions, for compliance violations.

Flanigan decided to redshirt and save his final year of eligibility for this season, when the program joined the GLIAC and regained postseason eligibility.

“From a basketball standpoint, it’s one of the best senior years I’ve seen,” Parkside coach Luke Reigel said after Saturday’s defeat. “He wasn’t Player of the Year in the league, but it wasn’t even close that he was the most valuable player in the league.

“More importantly to me, the character of the young man is off the charts. He had a choice to leave when things got really hard, and he didn’t. He left a legacy at UW-Parkside.”

Davenport’s Dyllon Hudson-Emory was named the GLIAC’s Player of the Year, Northwood’s Ja’Kavien Lewis was the Freshman of the Year and Davenport’s Burt Paddock was the Coach of the Year.

Mike Johnson