Kyle Zagar reacts to a strike during his nearly-perfect last game during last year’s Kenosha News Match Game Bowling Tournament. Zagar is the defending champion in the Men’s Division.

It’s that time of the year again.

Starting tonight, the bowling lanes at Guttormsen Recreation Center will fill up with hopefuls four divisions in the 56th annual Kenosha News Match Game Bowling Tournament.

Qualifying runs from tonight through Friday at GRC, with bowling beginning each night at 6:30 p.m.

Bowlers who advance out of the qualifying rounds will compete in the tournament finals May 12-17 at GRC.

This year’s tournament will feature Men’s, Women’s, Senior Men’s and Super Senior Men’s divisions. Defending champions heading into this year’s event are Kyle Zagar in the Men’s Division, Jackie Petts in the Women’s, Rich Beltoya in the Senior Men’s and Tim Ruelle in the Super Senior Men’s.

Zagar won his first crown last year in his fourth tournament appearance, and was just one pin shy of perfection in the placement round of the finals with a 299. Ben Betchkal, who has Men’s Division titles to his credit in 2014 and 2015, was second in the final standings.

Lennie Boresch Jr. leads the all-time champions list in the Men’s Division with 10.

Petts claimed her first tournament title last year, while Beltoya reached the winner’s circle in the Senior Men’s Division for the second time. Super Senior Men’s champion Tim Ruelle was a first-time winner as well.

The tournament used to also feature a Senior Women’s Division, but has not had that since 2008 because of a lack of entrants when Leslie Coshun won her second title.

Dan Truttschel